The School of Architecture and the Syracuse University Libraries will co-host the dedication of the newly renovated and renamed King + King Architecture Library. The event will take place on the third floor of Slocum Hall on Thursday, March 29 at 3 p.m.
Speakers include Chancellor and President Kent Syverud, School of Architecture Dean Michael A. Speaks, Dean of Libraries and University Librarian David Seaman and special guest Russell A. King ’52.
King and his late wife, Joan “Jiggy” King ’50, established the King + King Architecture Library in 2017 to support the educational experience of students studying at the School of Architecture. Their gift also celebrates the 150th anniversary of King + King Architects, a Syracuse firm founded in 1868 by Archimedes Russell. King + King Architects is the oldest architectural firm in continuous practice in New York State, and among the oldest in the nation.
King + King and Syracuse University have a long history together, with over 50 campus projects. These include Holden Observatory (1887), Crouse College (1889), the Von Ranke Library (1889, and now the Tolley Humanities Building), Manley Field House (1961), H.B. Crouse Hall (1961), the Physics Building (1967), Link Hall (1970), the Heroy Geology Laboratory (1972) and Bird Library (1972).
In addition, multiple generations of the King Family are graduates of the Syracuse University School of Architecture: Harry A. King ’24; F. Curtis King ’24; Russell A. King ’52; Peter G. King ’77; James R. King ’77; and Alex S. King ’11. Many members of the King family will be in attendance at the dedication.
Communication Access Realtime Translation (CART) will be available for this event. For more information, or if you need an accommodation in order to fully participate in this event, please contact Debra Witter-Gamba at email@example.com. (by Pamela Whiteley McLaughlin)