May 05, 2017

Thesis competition, student + faculty exhibitions mark end of year

The School of Architecture caps off year 2016-2017 with its annual Thesis Prize Jury competition as well as exhibitions of student and faculty work.

Thesis Prize Jury

Twenty Syracuse Architecture students, including three pairs, have been invited by faculty to present in the annual Thesis Prize Awards Jury, to be held Saturday, May 6 in Slocum Hall beginning at 10am.

  • Jonathan Anthony (B.Arch)
  • Maxwell Baum (B.Arch)
  • Chris Bressler &  Colin Hoover (M.Arch)
  • Taiming Chen & Yiwei Wu (B.Arch)
  • Cherif Farid (B.Arch)
  • Taylor Hagan (B.Arch)
  • Ana Hernandez Derbez & Domenica Velasco (B.Arch)
  • Max Kronauer (B.Arch)
  • Paul J. Lee (B.Arch)
  • Vivek Njanappilly (M.Arch)
  • Alexandra Ramirez (B.Arch)
  • Russell Scheer (B.Arch)
  • Ania Sernicki (B.Arch)
  • Hye Rim Shin (B.Arch)
  • Evangeline Soileau (B.Arch)
  • Yang Song (M.Arch)
  • Trang Tran (B.Arch)

Students will compete for prestigious awards that will be announced at the 2017convocation ceremony—the Dean’s Thesis Citation recognition and James A. Britton Memorial Awards. This year’s Brittons will include the Jury Prize, Faculty Prize, and Best Thesis Prize.

The Thesis Prize Jury event is open to the public. Presentations will take place from 10:00-11:30am in Slocum Auditorium. There will be opportunity to view projects throughout Slocum Hall from 11:30-12:30pm.

  • Alan Berger, MIT
  • Branden Hookway, Cornell
  • Georgina Huljich Jr, P-A-T-T-E-R-N-S
  • Julio Salcedo, Spitzer School, City College of NY
  • Matt Shaw, Architect’s Newspaper
  • Darius Sollohub, NJIT
  • 9:00 Jurors + faculty meet (brunch)
  • 10-11:30 Student presentations, Slocum Auditorium
  • 11:30-12:30 Viewing of projects, Slocum Hall
  • 12:30-1:00 Jury/Faculty deliberation, Marble Room
  • 12:30-1:00 Refreshments for students, VC Studio
  • 1:00-2:00 Thesis Prize Jury panel discussion, Slocum Auditorium
Honorable Mentions

Congratulations to the following students who have received Honorable Mention designation for their thesis projects:

  • Rui Bao (M.Arch)
  • Steven Carlson (B.Arch)
  • Alejandra Charrabe (B.Arch)
  • Eujean Cheong, Sol Yoon & Andrew Kim (B.Arch)
  • Olivia Flores-Siller & Steven Worthington (B.Arch)
  • Kolby Forbes (B.Arch)
  • Maggie Huang (B.Arch)
  • Piotr Jankowski (B.Arch)
  • Rajkumar Kadam (B.Arch)
  • Christian Martinez (M.Arch)
  • Tiffany Pau (B.Arch)
  • Johnathon Phillips (B.Arch)
  • Travis Telemaque (B.Arch)
  • Elias Varon (B.Arch)
  • Dabota Wilcox (B.Arch)
  • Emmett Walker (B.Arch)
  • Fei Wang (M.Arch)
  • Garrett Wineinger (B.Arch)
  • Sofia Zavala Ferreira (B.Arch)
  • Wenxin Zeng (B.Arch)

Thesis involves the definition and development of a rigorously constructed project, determined by the student, which is explored through research and design over two semesters. It is also serves to demonstrate a student’s ability to synthesize and apply multiple areas of the school’s curriculum. The thesis year is an opportunity for students to focus on issues that they are passionate about, that nourish them intellectually, and that situate them to make unique contributions to the discipline.

End-of-year exhibitions

In addition to Thesis Prize Jury, the School of Architecture hosts two end-of-year exhibitions.Both exhibitions will be open to the public as part of the reception that immediately follows the 2017 convocation ceremony on May 13.