2023 Britton Memorial Awards Thesis Prize Competition

Click on a project tile below to view each competition entry.

This year marks the 45th anniversary of the thesis program as it was established in 1978 by Werner Seligmann at the beginning of his tenure.

Each year, graduating students in the School of Architecture’s professional degree programs are eligible for awards: the Dean’s Citations for Excellence in Thesis Design, Citations for Excellence in Thesis Design and the James A. Britton Memorial Awards—Advisory Board Prize, Faculty Prize, and Jury Prize—that acknowledge the accomplishments of graduate and undergraduate students in their thesis year.

Beginning in 2020, as a result of COVID, the awards have been granted through an online competition open to all thesis students. This year, all the entered work is posted here as a public display. Thus the competition doubles as the Thesis Exhibition.

Prizes were determined by three groups of reviewers —Invited Guest Jurors, Faculty, and members of the Advisory Board— who evaluated the posted work and submitted ranked ballots. Dean Speaks announced the winners on May 13, 2023 at the School of Architecture Convocation.

James A. Britton Memorial Awards

Dean’s Citations for Excellence in Thesis Design

Citations for Excellence in Thesis Design