Rachely Rotem
P/T Instructor, NYC

BArch, Summa Cum Laude, Techion, Israel Institute for Technology; M.S. in Advance Architectural Design, Columbia University

Rachely Rotem, LEED AP BD+C leads MODU Architecture (Brooklyn, NY) with years of experience designing a wide range of project types and scales. She has won the Founders Rome Prize (2016) and numerous other competitions, including those organized by Design Museum Holon (2014), Beijing Architecture Biennial (2013) and the Athens Olympic Games (2004). Design awards include the AIA New Practices New York award (2016) and the Core77 award (2011). Before starting her first solo practice in 2009, she worked for established architecture practices in both Tel Aviv and New York. Rachely Rotem holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Technion (Cum Laude) in Haifa and a Master in Advanced Architectural Design from Columbia University, where she was awarded both the Lowenfish Prize and the William Kinne Fellows Prize. She is currently a Visiting Assistant Professor at the Pratt Institute and has taught at Rhode Island School of Design, Cornell University and the University of Pennsylvania. Rachely Rotem is a LEED Accredited Professional in Building Design and Construction.

Grants and Awards

  • Grant Recipient, Autodesk Entrepreneur Impact Program, 2018-2020
  • Winner, US-Japan Creative Artists Program, National Endowment for the Arts, 2017
  • Winner, Founders Rome Prize in Architecture, American Academy in Rome, 2016
  • Winner, 2016 AIA New Practices New York award, 2016
  • Winner, 2014 Urban Shade competition, 2014
  • Winner, 2013 Fifth China International Architectural Biennial competition, 2013
  • Grant Recipient, Marfa Dialogues, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation, 2013
  • Winner, 2013 Dumbo Arts Festival Call for Projects, 2013
  • Commendation, 2013 World Architecture News 21 for 21 Award, 2013 
  • Prototype Finalist, Lexus Design Awards 2012, 2013
  • Honoree, Interior Design Best of Year Award (Exhibit/Installation: Large), with Phu Hoang Office, 2011
  • Winner, Core77 Design Award (Interiors and Exhibitions), with Phu Hoang Office, 2011 
  • First place, SHIFTboston Barge 2011 competition, with Phu Hoang Office, 2011 
  • First place, Art Basel Miami Beach/Creative Time Oceanfront competition, with Phu Hoang Studio, 2010
  • First place, Open Fort 400 competition, with Stereo Architects and others, 2009
  • Lowenfish Prize; Columbia University, GSAPP, 2006
  • William Kinne Fellows Prize; Columbia University, GSAPP, 2006
  • Winner, Catch The Light competition, with LoT Architects, 2004